Top 10 interesting about Wichita Thunder

Screenshot 2023 02 01 092327

The Wichita Thunder is an American Hockey League team based in Wichita, Kansas. Founded in 1992, they compete in the Central Division of the ECHL. The team has made several trips to the playoffs and boasts a strong fan base. Here are some lesser known facts about the Wichita Thunder:


Screenshot 2023 02 01 092327

1. The original name for the Thunder was going to be “The Twisters” but it was changed at the last minute due to popular opinion from fans and local businesses.

2. The team colors were originally purple, black and gold but were later changed to blue and green after extensive market research revealed local preferences.

3. In 2006, they became one of just five teams in ECHL history to be awarded the Kelly Cup in their inaugural season.

4. The Thunder have won the Central Division Regular Season Championship twice, in 2006-07 and 2011-12.

5. The team has had 14 players called up to the American Hockey League since 2016, including three during the 2017-18 season alone.

6. The Wichita Thunder are partnered with four NHL teams: St Louis Blues, Dallas Stars, Anaheim Ducks, and Winnipeg Jets.

7. Current Head Coach Bruce Ramsay was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2018 for his outstanding achievements on and off the ice.

8. The Thunder are one of only two teams ever to win a best-of-seven series without ever losing a game, when they defeated the Allen Americans in the 2014 ECHL quarterfinals.

9. The Thunder have had 7 captains since their inception in 1992 and one of them, Dwayne Roloson, was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2020 for his outstanding career achievements.

10. Over 400 former Wichita Thunder players have gone on to play at higher levels, including 19 who have reached the NHL. These facts are an indication of what makes the Wichita Thunder a successful hockey organization both on and off the ice!

Leave a Reply